I’m a man who doesn’t like change. “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it” is one of my favourite phrases. I enjoy the status-quo, which I will concede, has its own benefits and negatives. Warhammer 40,000 has pretty much been the same since its creation thirty years ago. The game plays almost exactly the same, and the plot has not progressed much in that time. However it’s starting to change, and I’m not sure I want Warhammer 40,000 to change.

Warhammer 40,000 has recently finished releasing the “Gathering of Storm” saga which saw the Fall of Cadia, the Fracture of the Biel-Tan and the Return of Primarch Roboute Guilliman. This series of releases from Warhammer 40,000 is safely one of the biggest changes regarding the plot of Warhammer 40,000 of all time. It also saw the release of numerous new models and rule changes.

IMG_0299[1]
The return of Primarch Guilliman is significant to Warhammer 40,000; but I’m not sure I want him back…
The recent changes that have occurred in Warhammer 40,000 are not small changes. These changes are setting the stage for the grand future of the Warhammer 40,000 plot and reminds me of the changes I saw in “Warhammer: The End Times”, the final saga of the original Warhammer. This saddens me because I really did not like Warhammer: The End Times. I did not like the extremely dark and depressing plot that saw the entire fictional world get utterly destroyed by the antagonistic forces of Chaos. Nor did I like how the game saw an increase in overpowered models that saw the traditional slow-paced methodical game, turn into a faster paced game where the aforementioned overpowered units could win players games, with little strategy. The original Warhammer has always been a game of careful strategy to me. Warhammer was succeeded by “Warhammer: Age of Sigmar” which has had mixed reception by the original Warhammer fans. Part of me worries that Warhammer 40,000 could follow the path the original Warhammer took, and be scrapped in favour of a newer game. In my opinion Warhammer 40,000 does not need to be replaced. Especially for Warhammer 40,000 to be replaced by a game that could divide the fan-base like Warhammer: Age of Sigmar.

IMG_0295[1]
Will I be able to unbox and construct these models, or will Warhammer 40,000 become obsolete by the time I am ready to make them?
Games Workshop often makes changes to make more models. Whether these models are completely new or an update of an older model, these models are the main way of making a profit for Games Workshop. However these recent changes have included new models which have a place in the game which I do not like. While I like the aesthetic design of these new models, I dislike their place in the actually game itself. The new models of Primarch Guilleman and the new Eldar units introduced in the Fracture of Biel-Tan, remind me of Warhammer: The End Times models I briefly mentioned earlier; ridiculously overpowered. For example if we look at the lore Primarch Guilleman, he should be a God amongst men as one of the biological clones of the God-Emperor of the Imperium. If that was to translate directly into gameplay he would be an indestructible death machine, who would be virtually unbeatable with his strategic mind and legendary strength. Warhammer 40,000 already has issues with the power levels of certain units and factions in the game. The Eldar and Necron factions are notably derided by many players as being “overpowered”. I can only hope that Warhammer 40,000 does not go the way of Warhammer: The End Times with a large influx of models that ruin the game’s balance.

IMG_0294[1]
Should I bother finishing these models, or will they be useless on the battlefield, if this change continues?
I have taken numerous hiatus’ from Warhammer 40,000 over the years. However what I love about Warhammer 40,000, is that I can always come back to Warhammer 40,000 without much too much hassle, because of the lack of changes in the game. While some would say that the game should have had more innovation in three decades, I say that this is a boon for players young and old. Regardless of whether you have a preference in collecting models or playing the tabletop game, you can easily take a break from Warhammer 40,000 and come back to the game with a relatively up to date knowledge of the game. In my adolescence I took a break from Warhammer 40,000 because I was frustrated by my poor model painting skills. When I returned to Warhammer 40,000 in early 2015, I was able to quickly relearn the rules of the game and I was ready to play and collect again.

IMG_0300[1]
It’s pretty easy to re-learn the rules of Warhammer 40,000 because of the lack of massive changes, after a hiatus.
I can see why some people might disagree with my viewpoint. Warhammer 40,000 has been around for three decades and almost nothing has changed. Outside of a few major events before the recent “Gathering of Storm” event, very few major events have occurred in the Warhammer 40,000 universe. The God-Emperor is still entombed in his Golden Throne, the forces of Chaos still haven’t made much of an advance into destroying the Imperium (outside the Fall of Cadia) and the other factions in the game haven’t progressed much either. It must be agonizing for some of the original converts of the game to see the game having been stagnant for many years. These players have been fans for thirty years, without much progress or innovation. That’s why it pains me deep down to say I don’t like the changes coming to Warhammer 40,000. My reasons for wanting the game to stay the same are selfish, and I think deep down, even I acknowledge that significant and meaningful change needs to occur for the game. The creators of Warhammer 40,000; Games Workshop have not been doing well financially for years, with the company being forced to raise prices to compete with the decreasing fan base. Maybe when change comes, it will allow the game to reach the heights of popularity and acceptance that it used to have. Unless the eventual change that comes to Warhammer 40,000 is the Warhammer: Age of Sigmar style of change, in which case you can keep the changes.

 

Do you agree with me that the lack of changes in Warhammer 40,000 is a good thing, or do you crave for a new chapter to begin in the world of Warhammer 40,000? I’m interested to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

If you like this blog and the content produced by it, why not follow this blog? You can follow this blog through a WordPress account or by email to receive a notification whenever a new post is uploaded here on Room 633-K.

Thanks for reading this post on Room 633-K. Have a nice day!

